“I’m fat. It’s not my fault. And I shouldn’t have to pay more for my food.”

The headline above is fake, here is the original story….

 

The parade of sad stories continues…

But there is nothing about this disease that ties it to choices I’ve made. I was 22 when I was diagnosed. None of it was my fault.

So it’s hard for me to wrap my head around politicians who suggest that people with preexisting conditions deserve higher insurance rates because of their lifestyles. That is an uninformed at best, and cruel at worst, way of looking at the need for health insurance for everybody.

No one blames this person and everyone wants to help this person.

But he does what every phony from ThinkProgress to AL.com has done. selectively quote Mo Brooks….

On Monday, Congress member Mo Brooks, an Alabama Republican, went on TV and made the following statement about his party’s Obamacare replacement plan, the AHCA:

My understanding is that it will allow insurance companies to require people who have higher health care costs to contribute more to the insurance pool. That helps offset all these costs, thereby reducing the cost to those people who lead good lives, they’re healthy, they’ve done the things to keep their bodies healthy. And right now those are the people—who’ve done things the right way—that are seeing their costs skyrocketing.

I cannot adequately describe how much this enraged me. This is one of those things that you hear people say “the other side believes” but discount. I don’t want to believe that people think this. I don’t want to believe that people think that some others deserve to be sick. I don’t want to believe that people equate being ill with a moral failing.

Oh my, I imagine you might be mad if you don’t read the rest of the quote…

“In fairness, a lot of these people with pre-existing conditions, they have those conditions through no fault of their own,” he said. “And I think our society, under those circumstances, needs to help. The challenge though is that it’s a tough balancing act between the higher cost of these mandates which denies people coverage because they can’t afford their health insurance policies…and having enough coverage to help those people truly in need.”

Wow. I wonder why we would leave that out?

The Republican healthcare bill hardly leaves people with pre-existing conditions out…

(There are problems with that too…)

The author of this piece oddly, includes that we already charge some people more…

There is certainly a case to be made that people have some responsibility for their health. But the lines aren’t clear at all. It’s easy to point at smokers and say they’re doing something harmful and are raising costs for all of us. That’s why we can charge smokers more under the ACA. After that … it gets dicey.

Do you start regulating what people eat? What they drink? If you eat dessert and I don’t, why should I have to pay for your health care? Should we charge people more if they drive cars, which is the number one killer of children? I like to ski. That has risks. So does rock climbing. Or playing contact sports. Should we make them stop, or charge them more? What about people who scuba dive?

Yes to all of that.

If you use more of something, be it food (which I need to live) or healthcare, common sense says it should cost you more. What is so outrageous here?

 

