Shouldn’t sluts be shamed? When did “slut-shaming” become a bad thing?

Apparently telling women not to dress like whores is “slut-shaming”…

So they are sluts?

Has anyone ever made this argument that this is refuting?

I agree it’s unfair for girls to have to “cover up” so the boy sitting next to her can maintain control over his adolescent urges.

No. This is stupid.

The original argument being made here (believe it or not, The Huffington Post actually removed this post) is simple, football games are not dance clubs and you should dress appropriately.

What we didn’t want, and what we never did, was to show up for a college football game looking like we belonged in a Victoria’s Secret fashion show,” she scolded after the game, USC’s worst loss in fifty years. “More than once at that last ballgame, I wished I could have wrapped my elephant scarf around one of you, teetering around on stilettos with your bra straps exposed and operating under the misguided notion that you looked irresistible. I wondered if your mother knew what you were wearing.”

“Families attend these games. Little eyes are watching you,” she continued. “On behalf of them, and the rest of us who feel embarrassed for you as you walk by, stop baring almost all in the name of game day fashion.”

Dear young ladies of the SEC, can you do us all a solid and start covering it up? I wondered if your mother knew what you were wearing…I wanted to tell you that if you’re doing this for a boy, he’s not the one for you. I wished you understood that a trend can be interpreted as fun and flirty without being tasteless. Most of all, I hoped you would soon wake up to embrace the ethos shared by higher learning institutions everywhere – class.

Scandalous.

 

