Yet still more on the August surprise

In response to a message from me, Glenn Clayton of Appleton replied (emphasis added),

I contacted the superintendent for the sole purpose of avoiding any appearance of impropriety on Appleton’s part. My company was just beginning to talk with school systems about Contracting opportunities and the last thing that I wanted was any reason for someone to question our ethics.

Clayton’s statement conforms with the views I expressed on this blog on 19 August, views largely rejected by my favorite talk show host on the same day.It’s up to you to decide how much this changes the Pam Hill story line.

To complete the record, my 22 August message to Clayton is here,

https://theattackmachine.wordpress.com/2016/08/19/still-more-on-the-august-surprise/Mr. Clayton
Your on air interview with Dale Jackson left me with some unanswered questions which I posed in my post on Dale’s blog at the link above.Based on the info that Dale has presented my guess is that you contacted Wardynski primarily to protect your professional reputation and that of your company, to preempt any notion that you were trying to coopt AEA and teacher opposition to your services and marketing efforts by hiring or trying to hire Huntsville teachers.

Of course, my experience with Army acquisition and contracting on both sides of the table is different than your experience.

I am sure you want this all to go away, but no one is in control of that now.

Warm regards and thanks for letting me trespass upon your time,

Thomas J. Scovill

And the 22 August reply from Clayton is here,

Mr. Scovill,

Thank you for your note. I have tried to stay out of the fray on this particular situation. As Dale has mentioned, I did not share this message with him or anyone in the media. However, when the email was shared with him I felt it was my responsibility to at least validate the facts.

I contacted the superintendent for the sole purpose of avoiding any appearance of impropriety on Appleton’s part. My company was just beginning to talk with school systems about Contracting opportunities and the last thing that I wanted was any reason for someone to question our ethics.

Thanks again for reaching out and for sharing your thoughts.

Glenn

My apologies to Mr. Clayton because I had hoped to not bring him directly back into the story, but this is an important story for Dale and I thought it was important to help him make the record more complete.

EDITOR COMMENT: I have no idea what any of this changes. -Dale Jackson

